Showing posts with label Curl Confessions tag. Show all posts
Confessions Of A Naturalista
Sunday, 6 November 2016
We all try to make it look like we've got everything about this natural hair thing straight, when in reality we don't even have an idea of what we are doing. It's worse when you meet the goody two shoes and they make you just feel like you've been cruel to your hair! LOL.. Most times, its not that we don't want to do the pampering and all but 24 hours is barely enough and our hair isn't even number one on the list!
You don't have to feel guilty or worry, you are not alone, in fact, today's post is all about those times we have been negligent, because at a particular time in our hair journey we all have been negligent.
I am going to start with my own confessions and I would like you to share yours.
1. I haven't used a satin bonnet in two months: I don't even know where it is right now. I always try but it ends up at the other end of the bed and after a while I just stopped using it altogether.
2. I can't remember the last time I deep conditioned or pampered my hair : I just started working on Saturdays too which makes my Sunday hectic, I wash, iron, go to church, sleep ( and I love sleep) and do a lot more on Sundays and my hair just has to take the back seat for now.
Please don't judge me, I know I need to be better but hey, it's just hair! I believe after months of pampering and caring for my hair, it should have my back this challenging time.
So, that's my confession, please share yours in the comment Section.
We love hearing from you
See you in the comment
Section.
Curl Confessions Tag - Ebun
Thursday, 26 June 2014
The baton has been passed to me so here goes.
1. I don't sleep in a satin/silk bonnet. I don't even own one. I have this makeshift scarf that's neither satin nor silk that I wear that pretty much comes off before morning.
2. I don't have a regular hair regimen. Mine starts from deep condition--->shampooing and/or conditioning--->rinse--->air dry--->moisturize and seal. This is because I co-wash frequently and so my hair's hardly ever dirty.
3. I don't pre-poo and I hardly do hot oil treatments
4. I don't comb my hair. Haven't used one in 6months.
5. I chemically dyed my hair by myself twice
6. I've never trimmed my hair
7. I've never been to a professional hair stylist
8. I've never used heat for any reason
9. Sometimes, I use tiny rubber bands to band my hair.
10. I never wash my hair in sections.
Love,knots and kinks
Labels:
Curl Confessions tag,
Ebun Oluwole,
Hair matters
Curl Confessions Tag - Tommie
Wednesday, 25 June 2014
![]() |
| Don't be deceived. Hair that glitters is not Gold |
Hello Naturalistas,
So, @ilola Practically bullied me into doing this today. Since we agreed to confess our natural hair 'sins' I guess its time to air my durriii linen. Gosh! I'm so ashamed. Okay, But here it goes... But please be gentle on me
1. I do not know JACK about my hair, I'm serious... Everything ehen.. Idea is need!! Which one is porosity? Which one is hair retention? Abi whats all the big big hair grammar?
2. I bought a Satin bonnet once to just console myself that I made a good hair decision. I've not seen the thing since forever, forever is over 2 month now. No bonnet? I can't kill myself.
3. I know nothing about styling my hair myself and I won't go to a stylist, I will just plait 3 rows of corn, carry for 3 days and be off to work, After loosening on the 3rd day. I spray and let out my afro and the cycle continues
4. I comb my hair dry sometimes.
5. All the new naturalistas that come to me for advice? It is understanding that matters, and having African naturalistas bookmarked on your browser. Its the information that is important abi? not the means...
Please don't throw your stones yet, let me get to the end -__-
6. I have never trimmed my hair. I'm worried i just might want to BC If i do.
7. LOCO, COL, LOCK, LOL -__-... I don't do any of those. I put the L in Lazy when my hair is involved.
8. I USED to have a regimen, NYSC days... co-wash in the middle of the week, Wash rituals during the weekend, but I don't even have the luxury of time anymore. What does she now do? Wash it when it LOOKS like there is a need, Style and Spray till I need a refill.
9. On most days I e-apply all my hair products, How is that done? Here is the secret, I get out of the bathroom, then look at all the products I should be using on my hair..... Think about how mushy it will make my hands be, Then apply it ......in my head x_x
10. I CANNOT FIND MY BOBBY PINS!!!!!! And I've refused to buy any more.
He who is without sin, please cast the first stone... -___-
*Hides*
Curl Confessions Tag - Berry Dakara
Friday, 20 June 2014
Before reading this post, if you haven't voted for us, please, take about 20 seconds to vote for African Naturalistas hair products for the youth entrepreneurship competition. It requires just one click. Pleeeaaaaasssee. Thank you in advance. Click here to vote now, and come back to continue reading the post after.
................................
Throughout this month, you've seen some of us post our Curl Confessions (AN aka @ilola, Kenyan Mystic). We were tagged by our good friend, Nappily Nigerian Girl, and we all decided to post our confessions as different times. So here goes mine.
Dear Hair,
This is not a nice message, but just remember that I generally love you. But it's time for some truth telling and confessions. I apologize in advance for the hurt that I may have caused you and will in the future. Pretty please forgive me and grow all the way to my lower waist *wink wink* Without further aDO, here are the DON'Ts I've committed.
................................
Throughout this month, you've seen some of us post our Curl Confessions (AN aka @ilola, Kenyan Mystic). We were tagged by our good friend, Nappily Nigerian Girl, and we all decided to post our confessions as different times. So here goes mine.
Dear Hair,
This is not a nice message, but just remember that I generally love you. But it's time for some truth telling and confessions. I apologize in advance for the hurt that I may have caused you and will in the future. Pretty please forgive me and grow all the way to my lower waist *wink wink* Without further aDO, here are the DON'Ts I've committed.
- I haven't always worn my scarf. I'm soooooo sorry. It's mostly Scarfie Johansson's fault! Why does she think I want to play hide-and-seek every other day? Warn her o!
- I haven't washed you regularly. Let's blame DC here, because it just takes too long sometimes and I want lazy Saturdays sometimes. (Thank goodness for Rhassoul Clay)
- I've combed or brushed you dry. Ouch! Yes, I know I hurt you soooo much, possibly even breaking you (those tearing and breaking sounds). Thank goodness you're like Wolverine and can grow back.
- I have HIH (hand-in-hair) syndrome. Yes, I can't stop touching you. I know it's not a great quality, but you just feel so luxurious sometimes, so technically it's your fault.
- I'm so boring towards you. I hardly try any new things, new products, DIYs and more. I'm sure you're sick of my week-in-week-out same forever and ever routine.
- At the same time, I get bored with you too! Even if I put you in a protective style at a salon, I get bored and irritated within the week.
- I haven't always loved you or seen the good in you. You know how people tell me that you're long? Well I'm sure you've heard me retort, "Nuh uh... she needs to be like Whatsherface's hair."
- I over-bun you. Quick dash to the grocery store? Bun. Running late for church? Bun. After doing a few of the #31DaysofKinz styles, still took them down and bunned you before it was even noon! I know, terrible :(
- I'm still not sure what the difference is between a protein DC and a moisture DC. I mean, don't all DCs moisturize? Do you even really care? Whatever I'm doing seems to work for you already.
- Remember those 2 times when I mistakenly big chopped you, because I wasn't assertive enough to tell the guy to trim only a little bit? We sure learned from that.
And with that, I humbly apologize. I can't guarantee that none of the above won't happen again, but I'll try my darndest.
| Berry Dakara Instagram |
Kisses!
Labels:
Berry Dakara,
Curl Confessions tag,
hair tips,
tags
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
